Allan Timke

Allan Timke

Allan Timke is a Housing and Homelessness Coordinator with the Illinois Association of Community Action Agencies (IACAA) in Springfield, Illinois. He has been with IACAA since 1991 working on housing and homelessness-related policy issues and providing technical assistance in those areas to Community Action Agencies and other nonprofit organizations.

From 1991 to 2011, Mr. Timke edited IACAA's Homeless Headlines newsletter for homeless service providers and related professionals. In January 2012, he became the lead staff person for a new project bringing resources, and information directly to individuals and families experiencing homelessness. Keystone Magazine is the first component of that project.

Currently Mr. Timke helps provide staff support to the IACAA Legislative Committee, and the IACAA Housing Sub-Committee.

From 1999-2012, he was IACAA's lead staff person in a project providing technical assistance to HUD grantees and homeless service providers. For ten years, Mr. Timke coordinated the Annual HUD Peer-to-Peer Homeless Provider Conference. He is still active in a supportive role.

In 2010-2011, Mr. Timke developed a comprehensive relational Microsoft Access database to facilitate  IACAA's administration  of the Illinois Housing Development Authority Rental Housing Support Program (RHSP) for 55 mostly rural Illinois counties.

Mr. Timke served on the board of Housing Action Illinois (HAI) from 1989 to 2012, chairing the HAI Advocacy Committee for much of that time. He is currently a non-board member of that committee. He also represents IACAA in a range of housing-related organizations in Illinois, including the Supportive Housing Providers Association (SHPA).

Mr. Timke has more than 37 years of social service experience overall. He has a bachelor's in Sociology from Western Illinois University, and a master's in Sociology from Illinois State University. He has an interest in drumming, blues and classic rock music, astronomy, computing, exercise, and reading.

back to IACAA Staff